A humorous, optimistic blog about Food, Family, Friends and Faith

It occurred to me recently that I needed to find an outlet for all my recipes and musings. I needed a place to put my thoughts because my head is getting awfully crowded.

I considered writing a book. Maybe one book about parenting, another book about cooking (maybe two of those), a book about God and Elvis and Einstein and all those other individuals that we humans put on pedestals. But I also needed a book about balance – how to balance family and work, husband and daughter, God and Science, omnivore and vegan, exercise and sloth, water and wine, magical organic vegetables and utterly seductive and unctuous fois gras.

I detest hand-writing things – my hand cramps up because I never learned the right way to hold a pencil (although, God love him, my father tried to teach me). I could use our old IBM Selectric typewriter. It still works. The problem is – what do I do with all the paper? My family can tell you that I lose my glasses when they’re on my face. I have misplaced more important papers than I can count (“the IRS wants WHAT?”). I guess the typewriter is out, much to my chagrin. I don’t have my own computer. My state-of-the-art (for 1972) Dell gurgled its last breath a few months ago. That’s OK, because it was a piece of crap anyway. All I have at my disposal are an ancient PowerMac and a borrowed MacBook Pro. I love the MacBook, but it’s one of my husband’s work machines, so it’s not always a fixture in the house. The old PowerMac is great for playing Monkey Shines and Tetris, but it’s not good for much else. It can’t even support an internet browser – it’s that old! I do have a nice long lunch hour at work in which I could technically write, but I hesitate to leave personal files on the BOCES LAN. Makes my George Orwell antennae all twitchy.

My girlfriend Terri has a blog. I love Terri’s blog. It’s got pictures and music and everything! A few minutes reading her blog in the morning is like sitting down to a chat at the kitchen table with a steaming cup of coffee. THAT’S what I want to do, I decided. However, I’m such a computer moron that I need the help of my 18-year old daughter to figure this blog-thing out. After all, she facebooks, tweets, tumbles and has her own YouTube channel. She the expert, right?

And so she is dragging me, kicking and screaming, into the 21st Century (only 11 years after it started – I think that’s pretty good!). I’ll learn this as I go along. My writing will improve. I promise not to be snarky or complain too much – after all, the ladle is half full. I promise to be open and honest and will try not to be terrifyingly ugly (there are a lot of cobwebs in my head). I promise to push the philosophical and political envelope. Maybe I’ll figure out how to add music someday. In the meantime, sit down at my kitchen table with me and grab a cup of Joe. I have lots to say…

Wishing you all abundant Peace –

Coleen

Comments on: "A New Way of Life" (7)

  1. I love the title!!! Great job, Coleen (er….Louise).

    You will catch on fairly quickly, I’m sure!

  2. Michele said:

    I must find out how to follow you! Oh wait….I might have figured it out! Looking forward to reading your GREATNESS!

  3. Michele said:

    Opps…want to follow you through verizon…posting again! 🙂

  4. This is great. And good that you figured it all out. Once you get the hang of the basics, it’s not difficult. And then it becomes fun.

    Will you be posting your recipes? I hope so. You are an inspiring–and inspired–cook.

    J

Leave a Reply

