A humorous, optimistic blog about Food, Family, Friends and Faith

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I use this “ricotta” in a lot of recipes, from stuffed shells or lasagna to white pizza and calzones. It’s easy as pie (well, actually pie is a pain in the butt, because you have to make the crust and then you have to peel and slice the fruit and then if you don’t have instant tapioca you have to get in the car and go to the store and the Freshtown NEVER has what I need so I wind up going to Amenia or Pawling and what a pain THAT is and it takes so long and my pie is still sitting on the counter waiting for me to finish it and by this time the cat has jumped on the counter and is eating the crust because it tastes like butter…). But I digress. ๐Ÿ™‚

Nods to Marilyn Diamond – her “Stedda” Ricotta in The American Vegetarian Cookbook is the basis for this version.

1 package extra firm tofu (between 12 oz. and 1 lb.), drained

1/4 – 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/4 tsp. grated nutmeg

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning (or 1/4 tsp. each oregano and thyme)

2 – 3 Tbls. vegan parmesan (I use the Galaxy brand)

Cut one fourth of the tofu off the block and put in a medium sized bowl. Mash well with a fork – try to make the pieces all uniform in size. Place remaining ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth. Add more oil if necessary to achieve a smooth consistency. Scrape into the bowl with the mashed tofu and mix in the “parmesan”. Taste for salt, adding more if necessary.

Great if you mix in cooked, minced broccoli or cooked chopped spinach as a filler for manicotti. Makes 2 – 2 1/2 cups.

Comments on: "Vegan “Ricotta”" (2)

  1. I’ve been catching up on your last couple of posts (you’ve been busy since yesterday)! I love the pictures and the posts. Great job getting started, Coleen. Thank you for the recipe too.

    Dan’s brother is vegan and I always admire him sticking to his principles and not caving in.

    • Chuckle, chuckle – I have been busy! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I admire anyone who has such determination and purpose. It really inspires me to stick to my principles…

Leave a Reply

