A humorous, optimistic blog about Food, Family, Friends and Faith

Comfort Food

Lately, life has been a little stressful. From finding out I need dental surgery as well as two new crowns, to the events leading up to my sister’s wedding, a visit from my aged parents, money worries and plain old PMS, I’ve been edgier than a cat in a Chinese market.

Today, however, I have carved out a big old chunk of “me” time. That includes making myself some comfort food. It doesn’t fit in with any diet, it’s not vegan. Honestly, there aren’t a whole lot of health benefits to this dish, other than its therapeutic ones. It’s plain old love in a bowl.

Everyone has their turn-to comfort foods. Some people go for salty foods, some for sweet. Some seek the hot sauce, some grab the nearest chocolate available. I go for the ooiest, gooiest, cheesiest thing I can find. Today I made a big steaming pan of whole grain penne with not 1, not 2, but SIX kinds of cheese. And I baked it in my earthenware baking dish so it would have crunchy bits around the edges. Love in a bowl…

Mamadeon’s Six Cheese Pasta Bake

  • 1 box (13.25 oz. – 16 oz.) small tube pasta (today I used Barilla Multi Grain Penne)
  • 2 cartons (10 oz. ea.) refrigerated Alfredo sauce OR 1.5 15-oz. jars Alfredo
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 6 oz. cream cheese, well softened
  • 1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese (any kind) or feta cheese
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 carton (15 oz.) ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan, divided
  • 1/4 cup grated Romano
  • 2 cups mozzarella, divided
  • Sriracha sauce for serving
  1. Cook pasta according to package directions. It should be cooked al dente. Drain and return to pot.
  2. In a bowl, whisk together Alfredo sauce, sour cream and cream cheese. Add crumbled blue cheese and mix well. Pour over pasta and toss to coat well. Spoon 1/2 of this mixture into a greased (think Pam) 3-qt. baking dish and spread into an even layer.
  3. Combine eggs, ricotta, 1/4 cup Parmesan, Romano and 1/2 cup mozzarella in a bowl. (Save yourself some  dishwashing – use the same one you mixed the Alfredo sauce in.) Spread over pasta in baking dish. Top with remaining pasta (and all the Alfredo sauce). Sprinkle with 1/4 cup reserved Parmesan and the remaining mozzarella.
  4. Cover with foil and bake at 350F for half an hour. Uncover and bake until lightly brown around the edges and bubbly. Get a bowl, scoop some in, squirt liberally with Sriracha sauce and enjoy!

* * * * *

 

 

Comments on: "Comfort Food" (4)

  1. Eileen said:

    Wonderful Coleen! I especially love to picture w/the hot sauce bottle. I love my mac n cheese or any style w/that sauce!

  2. That sounds heavenly!!!!! Mac & cheese is a great comfort food. I love the cartoon too. lol

Leave a Reply

