A humorous, optimistic blog about Food, Family, Friends and Faith

A while back I blogged about expectations vs. reality. It was on a day when a trip to New York City turned out completely different than expected. A day when lessons about living life with no expectations, about being open to whatever comes, were thrown in my face over and over again. Today was a culinary day like that.

This morning, I made “egg in a hole” for breakfast. It’s a dish that 1001 Foods to Die For said was a children’s favorite. It’s a fried egg in a hole in a piece of toast. That’s it. There is nothing sublime about it. There’s nothing fancy about it. There’s nothing about it that makes you say, “Oh, God, take me NOW! There’s nothing more for me to experience now that I’ve had this…” I dipped my toast in my egg and ate it. I dipped my sausage links and ate them. I didn’t die. I am thankful for that, because had that been my final meal on Earth, I would have had some choice words for St. Peter…

After breakfast, I thought I’d make what appeared to be a simple snack bar called Flapjacks. Most of the people reading this blog think of pancakes when hearing the term flapjacks. However, in 1935 in the UK, someone devised a snack bar with lots of oats. It can be chewy or crunchy, depending on how much corn syrup you add (or honey or agave, etc.). Since it only takes half an hour, start to finish, I thought it would be a good thing to bake on a Sunday morning.

I measured, melted, stirred, pressed, baked, and cooled my bars, eagerly anticipating a sweet snack worthy of the Gods. I got a naked granola bar, an empty palette that could possibly be turned into something delicious. In and of itself, it is not. It needs something to make it extraordinary. As is, it is completely and utterly ordinary. Here’s the recipe. Try it and play with it. If you come up with something divine, send me an EMail. I’ll be over here enrobing mine in dark chocolate. Now THAT’s going to be good.

Flapjacks

  • 6 T butter
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 T corn syrup (or other liquid sweetener – I used agave syrup)
  • 2 cups quick cooking oats
  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Melt the butter, sugar and corn syrup in a saucepan over low/medium heat, stirring. Remove from the heat, add the quick cooking oats and stir well to combine. Press the oat mixture into a well greased 8″ baking pan. Bake for 25 minutes – the flapjack should be a rich, golden-brown color.
  3. Remove from the oven and leave in the pan while you mark it into squares with a knife. Allow to cool completely before removing from the pan. Makes 16.

NOTE: You may wish to put parchment paper in the pan. Mine stuck to the bottom of the pan, despite using a full T of butter to grease the pan.

Have a great week cooking!

* * * * *

Comments on: "Expectations vs. Reality part deux" (5)

  1. Everything looks and sounds delicious. Lovely comfort food.

  2. Those eggs look bloody amazing, what a great photo.

    • They were really delicious. Unfortunately my camera died so I got this picture off the internet. It was closest to what mine looked like. Same kind of bread and everything! Wish I could take credit for the photo…

Leave a Reply

