A humorous, optimistic blog about Food, Family, Friends and Faith

Last night I had dinner with three friends from high school. Just this year, we’ve gotten back in touch with each other, thanks to the miracle of Facebook. Last night was the first time we’ve all been together in over 30 years, and it was a night filled with delicious food, reminiscence and discovery. The years since high school ended evaporated, making me realize that time is irrelevant and the bond we created back then has transcended the three decades since graduation.

Jeannie told us about her botched neck surgery that still causes her serious pain. She is an incredibly resilient woman. Renee shared stories about her family and her pride was SO evident. Her empathy for those who are in pain puts me to shame. Eileen has an amazing sense of humor and kept us laughing with her occasional caustic observations. What a keen observer of life she is! I contributed a few tales of naughtiness in my youth. ‘Nuff said.

I love these women. There is something so grounding about reconnecting with people from my past, realizing that, through struggle and joy, we all grew through our awkward, often painful adolescence into strong women of character. We’ve all had difficult times, and have grown wiser and more interesting for having had them. We have kept our sense of humor, and even though we view the world now through somewhat jaded eyes, we all want to continue to learn and grow. We share a sense of empathy for each other’s struggles. It’s a relief to know that I have “sistas” in this world.

We talked last night about getting together every month to shoot the breeze and enjoy a meal. I hope that happens – I know there’s a lot I can learn from these three beautiful women, and I think I have some value to share with them as well.

Thomas Jefferson said, “Friendship is precious, not only in the shade, but in the sunshine of life, and thanks to a benevolent arrangement the greater part of life is sunshine.”

Last night that sunshine lit my way home. Today I awoke and it was still there. How truly blessed I am.

* * * * *

Leave a Reply

