A humorous, optimistic blog about Food, Family, Friends and Faith

My First Week

It has been one week since I decided to go vegan for National Vegetarian Month. Except for the feta cheese that made it to my stomach before my brain realized what it was (some day I’ll post about conscious eating), I’ve been doing OK. I’ve had some delicious meals, a few days with main course salads and a wonderful somewhat spicy peanut butter/coconut milk sauce with fried tempeh. Some of the meals I planned I was too tired to make, so I ate a few sandwiches (to wit: last night I made a riff on a reuben with tempeh, cheddar Daiya and kimchee). Since the salad dressing ran out, a trip to the market is in order so I can make more.

My skin is becoming smooth, my pointy chin (which I had forgotten was pointy) is coming back and I have a LOT more energy. There just might be something to this vegan thing.

Here’s the spicy peanut butter tempeh recipe. It’s adapted from a Vegweb.com recipe, a great place for vegan recipes.

for the sauce

  • 1 cup peanut butter, creamy or chunky
  • 1 14-oz. can coconut milk
  • 2 tsp. curry powder (I used a hot one)
  • 2 tsp. ground dried chipotle powder
  • 4 tsp. cumin
  • 2 tsp. turmeric (you can skip this – it gives the sauce an unattractive color)
  • 4-6 squirts Bragg’s liquid aminos or soy sauce

for the tempeh

  • 1 8-oz. package tempeh, cubed (I used a garden veggie flavor)
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, smashed
  • vegetable oil

for serving

  • cooked basmati rice
  • cooked green peas
  1. Mix peanut butter, coconut milk, curry, chipotle, cumin, turmeric and Bragg’s in a saucepan. Heat slowly over medium heat, stirring occasionally to melt peanut butter.
  2. In a separate frying pan, heat about 1/4″ vegetable oil over medium-high heat. Fry tempeh until golden brown on all sides; add garlic during last 30 seconds of frying. Drain on paper towels.
  3. To serve, plate some cooked basmati rice. Top with warm peanut sauce and the cooked tempeh. Serve with green peas or another green vegetable. You will have a LOT of sauce left over. It’s great with tofu.

* * * * *

Leave a Reply

